Zookeeper Tales Wednesday: Holidays! Woo!

Before I was married and had family to keep me occupied, I usually offered to work December 25th at the zoo because – secretly – it was one of my most favourite days to be there.  No public.  Generally no other staff.  Just the critters and me, in the basement of the museum, sheltered from the cold and the chaos of the holiday.

I went digging through my photos and couldn’t find copies of the ones I know we took over the years…an opossum sitting sweetly in Santa’s lap…a Burmese python posed in a coil with a Santa hat perched on his head.  Alas.  But!  Christmastime at traditional zoos is sorta magical.  Definitely unique.  Go ye and indulge!

s320x320Rawr!

Leave a Reply

